Home | Florida Statutes | FBC Rules | Construction Links |My Florida |

Surcharge ... Special Notice:

Major Changes to the Surcharge system.

Effective October 1, 2010 the method for assessing building surcharge fees will change from the current one-half cent per square foot to 1.5 percent of permit fees associated with the enforcement of the Florida Building Code. Building departments will be required to collect a 1.5 percent fee on all building permits, i.e., building, plumbing, electrical, mechanical, etc. The minimum fee collected on any permit will be $2.00.


Only On-Line Payments by electronic check will be accepted.

Rule 9B-62 - Collection of Surchages

Please login to the system at (using your jurisdiction login and password). UPDATE YOUR EMAIL address so future Surcharge notifications can be emailed to you. To do this:

1) Login
2) Click "Registration" (under Logout)
3) Click "User Registration" link
4) Scroll down to "Email Address" field and enter your current email. (Make sure it's entered correctly). Click Next, Next, until you can click "Finish."

Below are detailed instructions for the online process.

If you have any questions about the Online Surcharge process, please call Barbara Bryant 850-717-1839 or Jim Hammers (850) 717-1839



Department of Business and Professional Regulations
Building Codes and Standards

1940 N. Monroe st.
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2100

Copyright 2004 Department of Community Affairs, Building Codes and Standards